About Page

About US

LGA Research (Australia) is a research-focused company that specialises in researching, analysing and reporting on Local Government Areas all over Australia. It offers first home buyers, real estate investors and businesses in-depth but easy-to-understand analysis of local government areas in Australia. The Local Government Area (LGA) Research Report is a comprehensive due diligence report produced for the research eager investor and for anyone who wants to make an informed decision about his or her investment. Local Government Area (LGA) is a term used in Australia to refer to an area controlled by individual Local Governments. There are currently around 700 Local Government Areas in Australia. And LGA Research provides detailed reports on each of them.

Founded in 2011, LGA Research Australia is based in Parramatta, Sydney, Australia.

The LGA Reports

Our Local Government Area Reports are currently available in 8 States. The LGA Reports are constantly updated and new reports are added on regular basis.

Need Custom Reports

If you require a Custom Report with particular emphasis on certain information, a consultant will be in contact as soon as possible to confirm your order.

About LGA

Local Government Area (abbreviated LGA) is a term used in Australia (and especially by the Australian Bureau of Statistics) to refer to areas controlled by each individual Local Government.

There is some confusion as to the status of Local Government in Australia as it is not mentioned in the Commonwealth Constitution. The 1988 referendum included an amendment to explicitly insert mention of local government in the Commonwealth constitution, this amendment was defeated. However, all six State Constitutions make mention of Local Government. The Northern Territory is a unique case whereby they have enacted a Local Government Act that the Federal Government could repeal if they wished to, however as Local Governments operate successfully in all of the States this is unlikely.

State Governments are responsible for the legislation creating it, and ultimately for supervision. Funding is sometimes provided by State Governments, sometimes by the Federal Government. However, in recent years State governments have increasingly been devolving powers onto LGAs. For example, in Queensland LGAs have been granted the power to independently enact their own (local) legislation (referred to as “Local Laws”), in contrast to the previous system of by-laws.

The generic names of Local Governments vary from state to state; examples include Borough, City, District, Municipality, Region, Rural City, Shire, and Town. Many local government areas in New South Wales and some in South Australia no longer possess legal statuses such as Shire or Municipality, but are simply known as “Areas”, and their councils simply “Councils”, e.g. Burwood Council instead of Burwood Municipal Council. There are currently about 700 Local Government Areas in Australia.